Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List


Teacher of the Year

The ABTA Teacher of the Year Award is sponsored by Master Point Press (MPP), it honors and celebrates the teachers who go the extra mile for their students, the bridge teachers who make the game come alive, who keep students coming back for more.

Does your teacher give lessons that are funny and memorable? Do they have a way of making difficult concepts easy to understand? Have they done something noteworthy for the game in your community? If so, tell us about it, and nominate your teacher for the Teacher of the Year Award!

Curious about how teachers are evaluated for the Teacher of the Year Award? Want to know if you or your teacher is eligible?
Read our Eligibility and Selection Criteria.

Nomination Forms    Interviews With Past Winners


Need information or have questions contact the committee Coordinator
Kristen Onsgard at

Book and Software/Technology of The Year

This prestigious award has been granted every year since 1982, to acknowledge excellent bridge books for students and teachers. The responsibility of the committee for these awards is to consider the value to bridge teachers and their students of all products sent in to the committee.

The awards are given in three categories:
  • Best beginner/novice book of the year
  • Best intermediate/advanced book of the year
  • Best software of the year

Information for 2024 Book Award Submission

Works published since May 1, 2023 will be announced during the 2024 ABTA Convention in Toronto. To submit a newly published work for consideration, contact the committee chairman (see below) for instructions on how to send examination copies to the five committee members. Updates of existing works will not be considered unless substantially different from the original published work. Award may not be made in all categories if the committee judges that no work is of superior quality or value in that category. Entries are judged on their usefulness to teachers, students or improving players. Committee members do not critique or publish reviews of entries received.

Committee Chair: Karen Walker


4Need information or have questions contact
Karen Walker at

Apple Basket Tips

Before each annual convention, members submit to the committee chair creative teaching tips and ideas to clarify concepts and enhance the students’ experience. The winner is announced at the dinner banquet.

Apple Basket Tips Sample

Send entry or have questions contact
Brenda Montague at