Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Shopping Cart
Background Image URL //


We hope to see you  August 10 , for the ACBL and ABTA joint teacher roundtable. Going forward, they will be held the second Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. Central (7 p.m. Eastern).


This is your chance to connect with your peers, learn tips and tricks for teaching during COVID, and share your successes and questions. If you have a question you would like to send us prior to the meeting, you can submit it via this form.


click the link below to join

Meeting ID: 842 9495 3514
Passcode: 018163

Online Bridge Lessons Are Here to Stay!


No travel, no dressing up for students, no room or board setups for us—there are definite advantages. But we need to make online lessons as effective as classroom lessons.


Sign up now for one of ACBL’s How To Engage Online Students Workshops to see and master tactics for teaching bridge online most effectively The workshops are fast paced and fun with zero lecture. In fact, it’s one of the most worthwhile workshops I’ve ever attended.


The next workshops start February 8, March 8 and March 20. See details at



A video workflow for preparing Shark Bridge lessons


Thanks to Morris Jones (Mojo) for sharing this excellent video demonstrating how to prepare an online lesson using partial hands prepared in Bridge Composer and uploaded to Shark Bridge.


Click to view video

2020 ABTA Book of the year awards

The American Bridge Teachers’ Association has announced winners in its 39th annual Book of the Year contest, which recognizes excellence in instructional books for bridge players of all levels.

In the beginner/novice category, the winner of the 2020 ABTA Shirley Silverman Book of the Year Award was Five Tips to Simplify the Defense (Baron Barclay) by Audrey Grant.
The first in a series of booklets on defense, this title focuses on basic strategies for defending with ultra-weak hands.

Runners-up in the beginner/novice category were Bridge: All You Need to Know to Get Started (Flame Tree Publishing) by Mark Horton and Bridge in Small Bites by Kathy Coleman with Lauren Brown.

The winner in the intermediate/advanced category was Defense: On the Other Hand (Master Point Press) by David Bird and Larry Cohen. The unique format presents pairs of deals that are similar but require different defensive strategies. This is the authors’ sequel to On the Other Hand, which was named ABTA Book of the Year in 2019.

Runner-up in the intermediate/advanced category was Planning the Defense (Master Point Press)by Barbara Seagram and David Bird.

Winner in the advanced category was Bidding Topics: Book Two (Baron Barclay) by Eric Rodwell. A sequel to Bidding Topics (winner of the 2019 ABTA award), this volume offers a detailed discussion of how to make best use of nine popular conventions and treatments.

Runner-up in the advanced category was Card Pro Bridge Bidding System by Ron Feldman.

Two books were honored with the special Legacy Award, which recognizes efforts to make outstanding but out-of-print titles available to a new generation of bridge players.

Winners were Introduction to Declarer Play and Introduction to Defense (Master Point Press) by Eddie Kantar. Originally published in 1968, these classics were revised and updated by Barbara Seagram to incorporate modern bidding and play ideas.

ABTA Award Committee members were Sam Marks, Henry Meguid, Brenda Montague, Jeff Schuett and Karen Walker (chair).

ABTA is now taking submissions for its 2021 awards, which will be announced next July. Authors or publishers wishing to submit new works in any of the above categories can get more information by emailing the Awards Committee chair, Karen Walker at The submission deadline is May 1, 2021.

Member Benefits

Help Students Find You

Network and Exchange Ideas

Master Teacher Accreditation

Resources for Bridge Teachers

Quarterly Magazine

Teacher-only Discounts

Apple Basket Teaching Tips