The American Bridge Teachers’ Association has awarded the 2014 ABTA-Masterpoint Press Teacher of the Year to LAURA DELFELD of Austin , Texas. The plaque and monetary prize were presented by LINDA LEE of Masterpoint Press, the co-sponsor with ABTA of the award.

Delfeld is a busy professional teacher who is actively involved with her local unit 207 and who works with the Unit’s Novice program to create games and classes for novices. She encourages early participation in safe, mentored duplicate games which seems to be a great way to get her students progressing faster in their bridge skills.

Delfeld was the winner this year over three other outstanding professional teachers: Kathy Rolfe (Lake Winnebago MO), Joyce Ryan ( Houston TX) and Vickki Shelley (St.George UT) and one exceptionally popular and dedicated volunteer -teacher, Richard Logan. It was a most difficult decision as all the finalists had terrific credentials and wonderful accomplishments.


Teacher of the Year 2013-2014 Committee
Many thanks to this year’s committee members: Larry Cohen, Tina Radding, Joyce Penn, Mary Jane Orock, Linda Lee, and Nancy Abbott, Chairman.



  • Share :